Fruity French Lentils

Recently I went to my friend’s place for a BBQ where the boys were taking care of the meat and there would be one salad provided. I thought I should probably bring my own food to eat since a bit of salad for dinner just wouldn’t suffice for my hungry appetite! I had been planning to make a tabbouleh dish and this dish for dinner at home anyway so I thought they would be good to bring. That way I could make sure I had grains, protein and veggies all in one meal! I made double the quantity of both dishes so everyone else could help themselves, and it made quite a lot! This dish is lovely and summery, and is great for those who like things sweet (like moi!). Although it may sound odd to have raspberries and fruitiness in a salad, the ingredients really do compliment each other beautifully. The nuts add a nice crunch-factor and the basil goes well with the fruit. I also love the texture of the lentils in this salad, and its nice and light so you feel good eating it.

How pretty does it look? πŸ™‚

Serves 2

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup green lentils
  • Pinch fine sea salt
  • 1/2 cup fresh raspberries or fruit of your choice
  • 1/8 cup fresh basil
  • 1/8 cup fresh parsley
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/2 cup fresh orange juice
  • 1 tsp strawberry jam

Rinse lentils; drain and place in saucepan with 2 cups water. Bring to boil, add salt, and simmer until tender, about 30 minutes. Drain any remaining liquid and rinse under cold water to cool.

Combine fruit, basil, parsley, and walnuts in miing bowl. Stir lentils into the fruit mixture.

Stir together the orange juice and jamΒ in a small bowl. Pour over the lentil mixture and mix well. Chill for 30 minutes before serving.

Enjoy!

How pretty does it look?

I also entered this recipe on Lover Health Food’s Wholesome Whole Foods carnival.

11 thoughts on “Fruity French Lentils

  1. Looks very pretty! Sounds delicious! I love fruit in salads! The other day I made a salad with red grapefruit and dandelion greens! Having fruit seems to take a little bit of the bitter-ness away from the greens which can be helpful if you’re finding it hard to get the greens down. I just love fruit though- I’ve had some salads with strawberries which is surprisingly nice! And yum walnuts and herbs!!

    Which grains did you use in the Tabbouleh? I love using Quinoa! So delicious!

    • Thanks Michelle πŸ™‚
      That salad you made sounds delicious! And I am very keen to try strawberries in a salad mmmmm.
      You’re right – the fruit certainly takes away from the bitterness of the greens, and you can’t go wrong with a fruit + nut combo in a salad.
      The lentils are lovely covered in all that delicous sweet fruitiness as well.

      For the tabbouleh I used burghal (cracked wheat) and I will post the recipe soon! It was very yummy πŸ™‚
      Thank you very much for sharing that link! I have actually watched it before as I spent a lot of time trying to find as many Alicia Silverstone interviews as I could since I love the book so much hehehe. She is a very inspiring woman!

  2. Pingback: Red Radish Tabbouleh « Crystalline Green

  3. Wow! I have had fruit in salad’s before and loved it, but I would have never thought of putting fruit in a lentil salad. What a great idea! I love the inspiration I can get from all of the different bloggers out there. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!

  4. Bethany – Thank you! I’m glad that you are inspired by this recipe πŸ™‚ Its my pleasure to share it. Thanks for stopping by!

    Striving Bean – Thank you, it really is delicious! I am so envious that you have raspberries growing in your backyard! This would be a great way to put them to use πŸ˜€

    I’d love to hear your feedback if you try it!

  5. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday « Striving Bean – Bean Recipes

  6. Pingback: Fruity French Lentils (Lentil Salad) « Striving Bean – Bean Recipes

Leave a Reply

